Home » News Updates » Week Starting 24/1/22

Week Starting 24/1/22

Willow Tree Road Repairs Update

Council is holding an information session on the progress of the Willow Tree Road repairs.

The meeting will be held at 6:00 PM on Thursday 3 February 2022 at the Merriwa School of Arts.

More details on Council’s website at:



2022 Upper Hunter Australia Day Award Winners

Community members have gathered across the Upper Hunter Shire to celebrate the 2022 Australia Day award winners and nominees at ceremonies in Cassilis, Murrurundi and Scone.

The Australia Day ceremony in Scone also included a citizenship ceremony for 13 individuals from eight different backgrounds.

Australia Day Ambassadors author Catherine DeVrye, founder of national charity Every Little Bit Helps Katryna Robinson, and Managing Director of Good for the Hood Jo Taranto shared their inspiring stories at the ceremonies.

Winners were announced across a variety of categories including the overall Upper Hunter Citizen of the Year and Young Citizen of the Year.

The 2022 Upper Hunter Shire Citizen of the Year is John Brooks.

John is currently the Chairperson of the Scone Legacy Group and leads a team of dedicated people.

John previously ran a local engineering business, Brooks Bros. During this time, he was always a supporter and sponsor of many sporting groups, including horse sports and the Murrurundi King of the Ranges. He is also a member of the local Westpac Helicopter Support Committee.

The 2022 Upper Hunter Shire Young Citizen of Year is Dylan Denley.

Dylan has been an active member of the Upper Hunter Youth Council. He currently attends Scone High School, where he will complete the HSC in 2022.

Dylan shows initiative by researching ideas and approaching community members to seek support for issues he feels most strongly about. The Youth Council decided to raise awareness of the issue of homelessness by participating in a stay at home sleep out. To show his support, Dylan recently slept out of his bed for a month. During this challenge, Dylan single handedly raised significant funds for homelessness services.

Maurice Collison, Mayor for the Upper Hunter said it was great to see such a high calibre of nominee across all districts.

“It’s great to see so many valuable members of our community recognised for their efforts,” said Cr Collison

“There are so many outstanding individuals that really deserve to be acknowledged.

“I sincerely congratulate the winners of this year’s awards as well as all those who were nominated, ” she said.

A full list of Australia Day winners across all categories can be viewed below.


Citizen of the Year: Robert Dixon

Young Citizen of the Year: Dylan Denley

Young Achiever of the Year: Ciennah Sullivan



Citizen of the Year: Robert Smith

Young Citizen of the Year: Brodie McMillan

Achiever of the Year: Beatrice Voysey 

Achiever of the Year: Sharee Witney

Young Achiever of the Year: Ruby Wong

Sustainability in Business: Merriwa Petroleum & Ag Supplies             

Community Group of the Year: Merriwa Pony Club



Citizen of the Year: Dayna Hynes

Achiever of the Year: Sam Levik             

Young Achiever of the Year: Montana Rando

Community Group of the Year: PUSH48 

Special Award:

Excellence in Community Service: Doing it for our Farmers Murrurundi



Citizen of the Year: John Brooks

Young Citizen of the Year: Emily Grainger 

Achiever of the Year: Janie Jordan

Young Achiever of the Year: Samuel Barry     


Special Awards:

   Excellence in Health Services: Dr John Paradice

    Excellence in Mental Health Services: Pauline Carrigan                              


Upper Hunter Shire Australia Day Awards

Upper Hunter Shire Citizen of the Year: John Brooks       

Upper Hunter Shire Young Citizen of the Year: Dylan Denley




Senior Communications Advisor
Claire Killeen
(02) 6540 1110

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *